July 11, 2009

Saturday Night Genealogy Fun!

Posted in Saturday Night Genealogy Fun at 11:36 PM by Kris P

From Randy Seaver’s Geneamusings website:

1) Let’s go time travelling: Decide what year and what place you would love to visit as a time traveller. Who would you like to see in their environment? If you could ask them one question, what would it be?

2) Tell us about it. Write a blog post, or make a comment to this post, or on Facebook, or in Genealogy Wise.

Right now I’ve let go of my mother’s family for awhile. There are lots of things I could get: marriage certificates,  death certificates, etc, but it costs money, and I really don’t think I want to shell out any money just yet.

So now, with my entry into DAR, my gaze has settled on the ancestor my grandmother used….Abraham Riggs. I will expound upon him in a later post, but now, suffice it to say this: He was born about 1757 in Accomack County, VA, died in the 1843 in New Iberia, LA, making him about 86ish or so when he died.

I want to meet him. I want to go back in time (when he is younger and has a more trustworthy memory) and ask him if he really fought in the Revolutionary War. I want to tell him not to throw away any papers he may have, and to tell him what trouble he has caused by doing so. Of course if I suddenly popped up in front of him, wearing my normal jeans, and t-shirt, he’d probably run screaming, or try to attack me for being a witch. *laughs*

Leave a Reply

