May 24, 2009

Will he ever be found?-Rufus Townsend

Posted in genealogy at 11:41 PM by Kris P

Well, he is found of a sourts. I fuond his gravestone, so I know he died in Bombay, NY. I found him in the 1830 and 1840 censuses in Fort Covington NY, first, then in Bombay, NY.

  • In the 1830 federal census in Fort Covington, NY, he was enumerated to have 1 male child under 5, 1 male child between 5 and 10, 2 male children between 10 and 15, and one male between the ages of 30 and 40; one female between the ages of 10 and 15, and one female between the ages of 30 and 40.
  • In the 1840 federal census in Bombay, NY, he was enumerated to have one male child between 10 and 15, one male between 15 and 20, two males between 20 and 30 and one male between 40 and 50;  one female bwtween 5 and 10, one female between the ages of 20 and 30, and one female between the ages of 40 and 50.
  • This is definitely the same family, I just don’t know how to prove his relationship to whom I believe to be his father, Amasa Townsend Jr.

    2 Comments »

    1. Nancy Menzel said,

      I’m sure you are right. But I too have no proof. There is a reference in a county history to Amasa II’s sons, Rufus and Amasa III went to “St. Lawrence County about 1825. I don’t have the reference with me, I’m in CT and it’s home in MN.

      I would love to get together and compare notes.

    2. Nancy Menzel said,

      PS, Rufus is the first Townsend in our family Bible.


    Leave a Reply

