April 5, 2009

Genealogy Blogging Prompt week #14

Posted in genealogy at 5:25 PM by Kris P

Boy did I ever come in late, eh? So this week’s blogging prompt is:

Talk about the different types of technology you use in your genealogy research. Whether it’s a new search engine, a special application, or anything else “2.0,” let readers know what you’re working with, and how it’s working for you.

I am totally an online kinda gal when it comes to my genealogy research, which can hinder me more than help at times because not everything is online like, IMPO,  it should be.  Ancestry.com totally works for me, it gives me jump off points for research, and access to documents that I previously did not know existed. I am 100% behind the idea of free genealogy research, everything should be accessible to anyone at anytime, provided of course that the subject in question is deceased. The only con behind Ancestry.com is that some of these family trees….oh boy! I’ve seen trees where 9 year olds are fathers, and sons precede their parents by 200 years! C’mon people, LOOK at what you’re adding to your tree, don’t just add it mindlessly. Use some logic. One thing I have noticed through my research is that people really haven’t changed all that much in the past few hundred years. Women generally get married at about 18 or so for the first time, they stop having children at about 40ish, and they can live into their 80s or 90s.  One of my small mysteries that I would like to eventually resolve is Mary Jane Bitener. Online she’s generally accepted to be my gggggg-grandmother’s mother, having been born in 1703, however, generally accepted death date is 1814, allowing her to live 111 years! That’s hardly ever seen now when health care is at its finest, much less at a time when they were still bleeding patients and infections ran rampant (see: http://www.ushistory.org/brandywine/special/art06.htm)

I also just started working with Personal Ancestral File 5 (hereafter referred to as PAF5). Previously I was working with MyHeritage’s Family Tree Builder (hereafter referred to as FTB), but I found myself duplicating sources alot. I would still like to figure out how to make a report through PAF5, like I do for FTB. I see how you can print one out, but how to actually save a text-like report would be a nice thing to learn.

Finally, a third, physical thing that I’m using now, not computer related is my pink messenger bag that I got from AC Moore  a few weeks ago that I really didn’t have a reason to buy other than it was a great deal (got it for only $6!). This bag holds so much of my physical papers that its a really big help for when I’m dragging my 3 year old and 6 month old to the libary with me to pick up the latest research papers I’ve ordered.

Leave a Reply

